Students in caps and gowns process onto Pop Warner Field during SGI's 2022 Commencement

Over 50 awards and scholarships designated for members of the Springville-Griffith Institute High School Class of 2022 were awarded during the district' 192nd Annual Commencement on Saturday. 

The High School Faculty Advisory Committee, comprised of teachers, administrators and guidance personnel, determines the winners of some of these awards. Others are determined by the individual organizations donating the awards. The Springville-Griffith Institute High School is extremely grateful to all these organizations and entities who have presented scholarships to well deserving graduates of the Class of 2022. 

American Legion Auxiliary Scholarship - Sarah Jackson

James E. Anderson Memorial Scholarship - Timothy R. Blesy

Brian K. Baker Memorial Scholarship - Sarah Jackson

Alton J. Beasor Scholarship  - Casey D. Waterman

Brian H. Blesy Memorial Scholarship - Zachary Scime

David and Helen Brogan Scholarship - Austin Yetter   

Lawrence T. Butzer Memorial Scholarship - Timothy R. Blesy

Cattaraugus County Bank Academic Scholarship - James Snyder

CH2M Hill B&W West Valley, LLC Science Award - Erin Drewiega, Andrew Keyser, James Snyder, Lily Vanuga

Leiann Kief  Joseph Ian Cocina Memorial Scholarship

Collins Center School Memorial Scholarship - Leiann Kief

Conger Scholarship Fund - Abigail Fruehauf

Delta Kappa Gamma Recruitment Award - Jacy Schelble

EDF Renewables Trades and Clean Energy Scholarship - Hannah Goetz

Elementary Education Scholarship - Brooke Sellers

Jennifer L. Fiel Memorial Scholarship - Abigail Fruehauf, Marinna Heichberger

Eleanor Ruth Gale Scholarship - Melissa Rappl

Gerlach Scholarship Grant - Leiann Kief, Marinna Heichberger

Archibald Griffith Endowment Fund Scholarship  - Austin Yetter, Megan Schneider

Robert and Mary Kaufmann Scholarship - Scott Russell

Kiwanis Club Scholarship - Kaitlyn Kowalski

Kiwanis Club Memorial Scholarship - Serenity Heim

Charles Knapp Educational Memorial Scholarship - Thomas Orndorff, Lilly Underberg

Dale Allen Lampila Memorial Scholarship - Lilly Underberg  

Donald F. Leonard Memorial Scholarship - Brett Blesy

Kathy Lipka Scholarships - Nathan Guadagna, Gianna Ondesko

Millington Lockwood Scholarship - Elijah Jones, Alexis Rogers

McDonald’s of Springville “Big Mac” Scholarship - Kayleen Koffkey  

R.A. Mercer and Company Accounting Scholarship - Hunter Keem  

Edwin “Ted” Miller Math Award - Austin Yetter  

Women of the Moose/Nurse’s Medical Scholarship - McKenzie Steff

Mortons Corners Fireman’s Memorial Scholarship - Megan Schneider

Agnes J. Neary Scholarship - Thomas Orndorff

I. James Oatman Community Service Scholarship - Scott Russell   

Lois Odell Memorial Scholarship - Austin Yetter

Harold Olmstead Memorial Scholarship - Leiann Keif  

Michael Ottaviano Scholarship - Garrett Walker

Peerless-Winsmith Incorporated Scholarship - Madalynn Schwanekamp

Pop Warner Athletic Scholarships - Joshua Connors, Hannah Goetz, Marinna Heichberger, Austin Yetter

Louis J. Reed and Jennie Reed Memorial Scholarships - Nathan Guadagna, Zachary Scime

Howard E. Jordan & Matthew Golabek Sons of the American Legion Memorial Scholarship - Erin Drewiega, Sarah Jackson   

Southern Erie County Counselors’ Association Award - Shay Travis, Alexandra Moriarty  

Rhea M. Spire Art Scholarship - Arial Link   

Springville Chamber of Commerce Scholarship - Ella Wierzba

Springville Faculty Association Scholarships - Sarah O’Neal, Brooke Sellers, Lilly Underberg

Springville Field and Stream Scholarship Award - Marinna Heichberger, Tyler Wells

SGI Retired Teachers’ Association Scholarship - Jacy Schelble  

Springville Journal Scholarship - Garrett Walker  

Springville Study Club Scholarship - Harley Maloy

Springville Volunteer Fire Department Ladies’ Auxiliary Award - Shay Travis   

Springville Youth Incorporated Scholarship Awards - Halley Hayden, Marinna Heichberger

Teachers Supporting Students Scholarship - Halley Hayden

Felton-Burns Veterans of Foreign Wars Post #5260 Scholarships - Erin Dreweiga, Sarah Jackson, Austin Yetter

Mary Jane Gaffney  Virginia Scholarship - Sarah O’Neal

Charles E. & Elizabeth F. Whitmer Memorial Business Education Award - Ella Wierzba

Emily Whiton Fund - Matthew Blesy, Abigail Fruehauf

Kim Wilson Compassion Award - Madison Lissner  

Brooke R. Walker Memorial Scholarship - Marinna Heichberger, Elijah Jones, Alexndra Moriarty, Zachary Scime, Austin Yetter